Produkt dodany do Twojego koszyka.

Nok Cultural Ensemble
SA Recordings
Catalogue Number
Release Date
23 września 2022
  • Winyl 1×LP

    Pre-order $25.00

    Limited Edition 12" Vinyl

    • A Limited Edition Run of 300
    • Standard Black Vinyl
    • Bespoke artwork by Williams Chechet

    Szacowana data wydania: 23 września 2022

  • Pobierz

    Pre-order $13.00
    Wybierz format

    320 kbps, LAME-encoded

    Dostępny: 23 września 2022

The Nok Cultural Ensemble, SA Recordings and Spitfire Audio present an exciting new sample library which includes 5 one-shot jazz kits and 6 one-shot African percussion patches, followed by Caribbean rhythms and dub-inspired warps over 8 drum loops, 69 atmospheric scenes, and 13 tonal, melodic warped presets — complemented by a range of in-built FX. Recorded to tape at the legendary Ariwa Studios, these unique sounds and textures thrum, crackle, and crash with new possibilities for modern tracks and contemporary media scores.

The Nok Cultural Ensemble (NCE) was formed in 2017 by Edward Wakili-Hick (Sons of Kemet, Steam Down), with the sample library featuring fellow members Onome Edgeworth (Kokoroko) and Joseph Deenmamode (Mo Kolours). Together, the NCE crafts a visionary rhythmic continuum that tunes into living traditions stretching back through time to ancient civilisations, and calls in liberated futures through experimental frequencies and propulsive, frenzied textures. A modern take on possibly the oldest instrumental formation in human history — the drum/percussion ensemble — the band is rooted in traditional African and Caribbean musical concepts, aesthetics and forms, inspired by the ancient civilisation of Nok, (an advanced civilisation dating back to 500 BC) but drawing particularly on the legacy of cultural ensemble bands from 1960’s West Africa. Situating themselves in this lineage, Nok Cultural Ensemble draws on the heritage of its members from St Kitts and Nigeria to Mauritius and the UK for a contemporary tapestry of black expression.

The library will be followed by a full length LP, out September this year, on SA Recordings.

Click through to Spitfire Audio's website to purchase the sample library.

Lista utworów

  1. 1 Didam 3:06
  2. 2 Awakening ft Theon Cross 6:18
  3. 3 Sang Awun 3:21
  4. 4 Ancestral Visions 4:00
  5. 5 Enlightenment ft Angel Bat Dawid 2:52
  6. 6 Lyet 3:37
  7. 7 Kyangma ft Simeline and Sulyiman 5:39
  8. 8 Y.T.T.T. 5:04
  9. 9 Maroon Step ft Watusi87 2:47
  10. 10 Nietatangwat 3:08
  11. 11 Communal Healing 1:13
--:-- --:--

Ustawienia ciasteczek

Ta strona korzysta z plików cookie. Aby uzyskać więcej informacji, zapoznaj się z naszą polityką plików cookie. Polityka plików cookie

Zezwól na wszystkie
Zarządzaj preferencjami zgody